the passenger seat


*fin

I am so beached right now. Totally exhausted. It’s been a crazy long day and an even more hectic week.

But, it’s the night of the last day of high school and our entire schooling lives and so I feel compelled to blog about it tonight while it’s still fresh.

I think I’ve pretty much covered all my sentimental feelings in my previous few posts, so I’ll try to keep that to a minimum this time round. But, if you’re not a fan of recounts, skip to the end for the more reflective stuff. Actually, after writing this blog I think there’s still quite a bit of sentimentality intertwined with the recounts. Okay, upon reaching the end I realised that there is no reflective ending to the blog. Maybe next time. (Yes these were added further into the blog, not at the beginning because that would be weird.)

Anyways, let’s start with Monday…

Monday

Monday was our farewell assembly. Arrived at school early for Single Ladies rehearsal since I only knew like the first five moves prior to Monday. It was fun letting go of our inhibitions and our dignity in the name of going out with a bang, and I definitely will not forget it. I never thought I’d do what we did on stage on Monday, but we did. And I never thought we’d wear what we wore, but we did. I don’t think I need to go into specifics about that. But it was just really awesome to do it with a lot of my friends; most of whom I never thought would ever put themselves in that position. I never thought I would ask a guy “So, are you wearing a leotard?” and hear the reply: “I guess so.”

Dancing with the Single Ladies was great, but I had two performances to prepare for the assembly, the other being the “4-Chord Song” with SY, Carol, Annie and special guest appearances by Angelina and Mindy, or rather “JACS ft. AM-Dawg” as SY has dubbed us. This performance was not on a whim; it stems back from our time in musical in year 11. Being only minor principals, we were not often required for actual rehearsals at late-night principal rehearsals. So, we spent a lot of time outside the hall and in the gym equipment storage room just jamming to a guitar; mostly to the “4-Chord Song” and its many variations. For those of you who don’t know it, it’s a medley of a number of different songs to the same four chords, since hundreds of popular songs in the last few decades have been written to the same chord progression. It’s been done many times before by Norwegian Recycling and AJ Rafael and friends, just to name a few, but ours consisted of: Jason Mraz’s “I’m Yours”, The Black Eyed Peas’ “Where Is The Love”, Alicia Keys’ “No One”, Sam Hart’s “Mario Kart Love Song”, The Black Eyed Peas “Where Is The Love” (the rap), Colbie Caillat’s “Realize”, Missy Higgins’ “Scar” and Ne-Yo’s “Easy”. Since the end of year 12 was a lot about remembering old times and reliving memories from our younger years, it was really nice to go out with this song, and I had a great time practising and performing with you guys.

Following the performances were the traditional speeches (although there was none by year 11s this year), video presentations and then our final roll call where we received our rams and walked to the back of the hall. Speaking of which, I would’ve liked the usual walk down the centre aisle rather than the side, but ah well.

After that there was the massive photo-taking and hug-fest. A little known fact about me: I like hugs. Some were more emotional than others, and frankly I was a little bummed that I wasn’t as sad as I’d expected. I guess I knew that I’d still see my friends in the following two days, so the reality of the end of high school hadn’t quite hit me as hard as it did for others.

Tuesday

The morning started with a mass shirt and book signing that only got bigger as the morning went on. At first it was difficult thinking of messages to write, but I think we’re all experts at it now. Not much to say except that I enjoyed this part a lot.

Then was the luncheon. I arrived in the hall a tad late and so the food supplies were low, but I managed to fill myself.

Then a group of us boys headed down to the oval for our last game of gridiron at school. Due to Deva’s request, our team became the “skins” team, along with Gabriel, Bryan, Ben and Eddy. Twas fun.

Tuesday night was Cabaret Night; the last school concert I will ever attend as a student. I kind of regretted not performing as I usually do, but it was nice just watching and cheering on the performers from our grade (and the other grades). Following this, I got home and proceeded to make the little puff things I brought for Winnie and Carol’s birthday picnic the next day.

Wednesday

I’m sure by now you’ve realised that I’ve kind of gotten a bit tired in the process of writing this blog. But anyway, I shall motor on with it. Don’t you just love unnecessary lines talking about the unnecessary nature of certain lines in a blog? Yeah, I’ll stop now.

Today I arrived at school to see everyone in mufti with their beach gear and everything. A few more shirt signings later and we had roll call (wait, what happened to our final roll call on Monday?), and during this, Rena from year 8 came to give Annie and I a little graduation gift and a final hug and goodbye. I found this gesture very touching, so although I know you don’t read my blog, thank you Rena, I love my monkey.

The beach was great, but unfortunately at this point I am too beached to remember the details. Briefly playing with Winnie’s skimboard, dunking people, eating at the picnic, doing a little bit of photography with James’ camera, a huge grade photo taken by a million different cameras… All in all it was a really relaxing final outing with the whole grade.

Upon arriving back at school, I noticed a few people pondering, and it was obvious to me that the end had finally hit them. For me, it still hadn’t. I knew that I would be seeing everyone again at night…

Winnie and Carol’s birthday dinner was held at The Ranch. There was a lot of talk about beer and there was a kind of mini-crackdown on underage drinkers but it all worked out somehow. I didn’t have any since I had to drive. I ordered the Scotch Fillet Steak Sandwich, which was pretty good, but the majority of the night was not spent eating. We watched Winnie and Carol open their gifts, we sang Happy Birthday to them and then the photo-taking started. Everyone just chilled out around the three big tables we had reserved and took luvos and just chatted. I lack the words right now to express how nice it was, so for now I’ll just use some an adverb and say that it was really, really nice. I guess it somewhat hit me at that point as people were leaving that I wouldn’t be seeing them properly again for a long time. But I know we still have the HSC and schoolies and ATAR BBQ and all that jazz. I think all of this is actually my mind making up excuses because I can’t accept the fact that it’s all over. But we’ll see.

After the dinner a small group of us headed to Karaoke in Eastwood: Janet, Winnie, Carol, Annie, SY, Angelina, Danny, Aryan and I stayed for the majority of it, while Leeanne left early on. Sang a few songs, then hugs all round as we left.

Anyways, I think that’s all I have the energy for tonight/early morning. Maybe I’ll write some more tomorrow. Photos from tonight should be up tomorrow or over the next few days.

But until next time, stay safe and don’t forget the memories we’ve shared at school.

Ruse 09; I love you all. And I truly mean that. We were the best grade ever. I am so thankful to have known you all, and for those I haven’t known so well; know that I have regretted it.

Take care everyone.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

luff yew tew jermmy

Comment by meelo

😦 I can’t believe people stay out so late to partay & karaoke 😛

LOVE YOU LOTS SLUBBERMOOSH- I am also loving this recount post 🙂 I always feel tired after just thinking about the past week because SO much has happened.

😀 Our grade wouldn’t have been complete without any one from our grade- if that makes sense.

And don’t worry Jero. You still have SCHOOLIES! and a large range of other ruse09 outings 😀

Comment by BELLE

I loved your recap on the HISTORY BEHIND FOUR CHORDS. We never got to do that photo of you in the store room and the hula hoop. Maybe sometime (:

TAKE CARE!
sy

Comment by samcuties

Noice blog what songs did you guys sing at K?

Aryan’s mum called my phone during the night but I was too scared to answer – eep!

Comment by Bosco

“There was a lot of talk about beer and there was a kind of mini-crackdown on underage drinkers but it all worked out somehow.”
lol, I was at Liuser’s table, and the guards kept standing there because he had left to go somewhere, and there was an unclaimed beer next to his plate.

He started walking back, and I was motioning to Gabriel to get Michael to leave, or something, and then he comes back and it’s like

“Show us your ID please.”

Uh-oh.

But then Michael, being the smooth operator he is, plays it off.

“I’m under 18. I’m not drinking that.”
“Well, I don’t want to see it on your table.”
And he walks off and palms it off to someone else on another table. PROBLEM SOLVED

Much love Jero. 🙂 Take care, and good luck.

Comment by Spik3balloon




Leave a Reply

