the passenger seat


the life of the party

So, if you’ve already read Belle’s or Sandy’s or even Janet’s blog, you’ll know that last night we had a belated (exactly a month after her birthday) surprise birthday party for Janet at Temasek Restaurant in Parramatta.

I would’ve blogged about it last night, but I was too busy editing photos to do some writing. Head to my Flickr for the photographs from last night as well as all the other photos I’ve taken with my new camera.

So anyway, the day began with me catching a bus to Parramatta. I arrived jsut before noon and decided to have some lunch and browse JB Hi-Fi a bit. While there I also played Guitar Hero for some time, which I haven’t played in ages, so that was fun. I also went around to the camera stores and had a bit of an ogle at all the gear and lenses. While at one of the stores, an employee noted my camera and we had a little chat about it. It was a little awkward but cool at the same time.

I probably shouldn’t be saying this, nor should I have done it, but a little while later I headed to the cinemas to buy tickets for Janet and me to The Hangover, which we would be watching at 2:20pm later that day. But while there, I met three of my brother’s friends and they were hoping to watch Bruno- except that they were all fourteen. So they then asked me to buy tickets to Bruno for them and I wasn’t so sure about it, but luckily I convinced them to watch The Hangover instead, which was also MA15+ but which I figured would be a cleaner movie than Bruno. So I figured I didn’t really want them to be sitting next to Janet and I in the cinema, so I bought three tickets and decided to buy ours later. In hindsight, the movie wasn’t too bad in terms of adult themes/images, so I guess it was okay.

I met Janet about an hour after I arrived, and we then bought tickets. On the bottom floor of Parramatta Westfield there were two people costumed as Daffy Duck and Bugs Bunny, and a lady with a Polaroid camera giving out free photos to anyone who lined up. So Janet and I decided to go down there, and we scored a sweet Polaroid of us with the two characters. After some shopping it was almost time for the movie, so we picked up a pie each from the shop next the Woolworths and also an Easyway each, taking advantage of the “Buy One Get One Free” coupon (for both shops) that was in the free Westfield coupon book that they had at the information desk.

The movie was actually quite good. I had heard people saying that it was a good movie before I went to watch it, and it was quite enjoyable. Basically, the story is about four guys who go to Las Vegas for their bachelor party, but end up waking up the next morning with the biggest hangover possible and no memory of anything that happened the night before. Turns out, a lot of crazy ish went down that night, and the movie is about how they try to find out what happened and to find their friend who they lost on the way. I’ve probably cheapened it somewhat through my description, but I do recommend it to anyone who wants to have a laugh at the movies without wasting your money.

So, after that we headed just outside Westfield where we took some shots. Unfortunately there weren’t very many good ones; Parramatta wasn’t as interesting as I first anticipated.

It was about six o’clock when we started to head to Temasek, where, unknown to Janet, there would be eleven friends waiting for us. I used my cool stalling tactics of forgetting the way to the restaurant (actually, I really did forget) and we ended up getting a bit wet walking through the rain to the restaurant. I wasn’t really worried about going the long way (apart from the rain), since Sharon had called me earlier and asked me to stall for more time.

Anyway, we arrived at the restaurant and everyone yelled “Surprise!” and Janet received her gifts. Then I ordered and we ate. It was good food, we ordered (between two joined tables and thirteen people): Satay Chicken x2, Kecap Manis Calamari x2, Beef Rendang x2, Chicken Curry x1, Black Pepper Chicken x1 and one piece of Roti Canai each. Pretty standard Malaysian food (except the Black Pepper Chicken which is Chinese), so I was pretty happy that everyone got to eat the kind of food that is so familiar to me.

Overall it was a really fun day and a great night; I haven’t had a chance to catch up with friends at all these holidays so it was nice to see everyone again. To see the other side of the story, that is, from the perspective of the group that greeted us at the restaurant, read Belle’s or Sandy’s blog.

Also, don’t forget to check out the photos at my Flickr, also named The Passenger Seat. Also, keep a look out for my Tumblr, A Scent Of Evergreen, where I have constantly been uploading photos, too.

I don’t think I’ll blog for a while after this, due to studying and such. So until next time (which could be far away), do take care.

PS. Oh, and nice job to Rohan again. The last title was the song “Symbol In My Driveway” by Jack Johnson, from his album On And On. This blog’s title is taken from the Fall-Out Boy song with a similar title, omitting the “(After)”.

group

Flickr Set: Janet’s Dinner

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

🙂 It was a fun day.

Shopping for candles was also quite fun 🙂 Ahh I’ll miss it after high schools over 😦

Comment by mishmashmosh

The calamari dish was legendary!
I want to check out your Flickr but it’s almost impossible while I’m capped.

Comment by Rohan

I didn’t even know it was exactly a month after her birthday :O How convenient!

Comment by LeeAnne




Leave a Reply

