the passenger seat


split screen sadness, part ii
Lately I’ve also been watching a lot of Entourage. Now, I haven’t really been into many series before, mainly because I can never be bothered to follow it in its entirety, but I really enjoy watching Entourage. Great show; my favourite character is probably Ari Gold and his relationships with his wife and his gay assistant, Lloyd. For those of you who haven’t heard of or watched it, Entourage is a series about four friends who live together, and one of them, Vincent Chase, is a move star. So it’s basically all about him and his agent (Eric) getting movie deals and partying and the likes, but with a lot of lols and girls thrown in. There are also side plots with the other guys- Johnny Drama (Vincent’s older brother, washed up TV star) and Turtle (a guy who does nothing a lot of the time except check out girls)- getting some action in the business, too. It’s an interesting take on media and the entertainment business. I’ve watched up to the end of season 4 so far, and I’m now beginning to download season 5. Season 6 is in filming at the moment, so I look forward to that also. After Trials/HSC/whatever, that is.
So yesterday I watched Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince with my family. In my last blog I talked about Angels & Demons and how it was not faithful to the novel and that annoyed me a lot, so I think it helped that I had forgotten the story of Rowling’s book at the time of viewing. I did notice that certain parts of the story were removed, some in key scenes (where was ‘petrificus totalus’?), but I think the producer/screenwriter did it well, and the movie did work for me.
Desktop

To start off, I have some very exciting news. Today I went to Harvey Norman in Auburn and purchased something I’ve been wanting for a while now: the Nikon D5000 DSLR Twin Lens Kit. Thanks to John for helping me out. Although I did not use his sister’s staff discount at Harvey Norman Moore Park (too long a drive), it did help when I quoted that price to the salesman at Auburn, and I ended up getting a similar price without the trip to Moore Park (since my parents needed to print photos from their holiday at Harvey Norman). What can I say, I love it. Photography is really fun, but there’s still a lot of practice needed.

Please direct yourself to A Scent Of Evergreen. It’s my secondary blog on Tumblr, and it’s been waiting in the wings for a little while, in anticipation of this camera. It’ll be a photo blog as well as a place to post little random things like quotes that don’t really warrant a full post here. It’s much in the vein of James’ blog (Team Nikon!), which has moved to a new address: Written With Light.

And now onto the second part of the movie post…

Lately I’ve watching a lot of Entourage. Now, I haven’t really been into many series before, mainly because I can never be bothered to follow it in its entirety, but I really enjoy watching Entourage.

entourage

Great show; my favourite character is probably Ari Gold and his relationships with his wife and his gay assistant, Lloyd. For those of you who haven’t heard of or watched it, Entourage is a series about four friends who live together, and one of them, Vincent Chase, is a move star. So it’s basically all about him and his agent (Eric) getting movie deals and partying and the likes, but with a lot of lols and girls thrown in. There are also side plots with the other guys- Johnny Drama (Vincent’s older brother, washed up TV star) and Turtle (a guy who does nothing a lot of the time except check out girls)- getting some action in the business, too. It’s an interesting take on media and the entertainment business. I’ve watched up to the end of season 4 so far, and I’m now beginning to download season 5. Season 6 is in filming at the moment, so I look forward to that also. After Trials/HSC/whatever, that is.

So yesterday I watched Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince with my family.

hp6

In my last blog I talked about Angels & Demons and how it was not faithful to the novel and that annoyed me a lot, so I think it helped that I had forgotten the story of Rowling’s book at the time of viewing. I did notice that certain parts of the story were removed, some in key scenes (where was ‘petrificus totalus’?), but I think the producer/screenwriter did it well, and the movie did work for me. As always, the movie had its funny moments, and I loved the awkward love scenes. The Ron/Lavender relationship was especially amusing. The only problem I have with the movie was the ending. I remember someone on the forums saying that it was good except the last half-hour? Well I agree. I think they spent a lot of time on the love potion parts and stuff like that without moving onto the actual horcrux part, and then they rushed that. Overall I did really enjoy it; it had me gripped for most of it. Oh, I forgot to mention Emma Watson. Let me just say that she was good viewing.

Hmm, MasterChef. I’ll keep this short. I still think Julie is not professional chef standard. I still think she should have gone home at the beginning of the week. Poh should have won. Although it was stupid how she didn’t follow the instructions for the tempered chocolate, and she left her sorbet in the freezer for far too long. I guess she paid for those mistakes. The look on Julie’s husband’s face as he walked in was priceless. You could really see the emotion, so I’m happy for them. She’s a nice person and a mother, so it’s pretty hard not to like her. Like a lot of people, I noticed that she used her patented touching speeches again today. Ah well, looking forward to next season.

I think that is all I have to say today. I hope your holidays are all going well. Bye for now.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I think I will DL this movie, only to watch Emma Watson. As Michael said on his blog, she’s made steady progress up the ‘sexy scale’.
What’d you think of Cho Chang?

Comment by Rohan

@ Rohan: I wish I hadn’t wasted $15 to watch Transformers. =_=;

Masterchef : Julie should have been home with her friggin family, not at this competition. I’m disappointed in the result. Chris deserved it more than her (I conclude in hindsight 😦 )

AND LUCKY YOU D: DSLR.

I’ve decided that getting a dslr for myself is probably very … unnecessary :/
BUT BRING ALONG PLS ON VERY FUN OCCASSIONS COMING UP 😉

Comment by mishmashmosh

scottish love baby
cho chang is.
wack.

Comment by meelo

You should’ve quoted a lower price, thats what my parents do 😐

Comment by jonald

Amen to that.

Comment by James




Leave a Reply

