the passenger seat


too much food

Wow, what a hectic night. Well, it’s only because of one thing:

MasterChef.

masterchef

Most of you watched it tonight and boy, what a crazy episode and verdict, and the previews looked epic also.

I haven’t blogged about MasterChef since probably my third blog ever, back when all twenty contestants were still in the competition. I’ve followed the entire competition (missing out some episodes due to exams, basketball and other commitments), and it’s pretty much one of the most interesting reality shows I’ve ever watched. It seems that the rest of the country agrees with me, too, since the show has received top ratings and views for the past few weeks.

Anyway, so today’s episode was quite a thriller. I won’t go through what actually happened since I know most people watched it, but it’s the verdict that everyone’s talking about. I don’t think anyone saw it coming that Chris would be going home tonight. He was tipped to win, and most thought that he would at least be in the finale. I think what really swayed it tonight was the presence of Donna Hay (whose cookbooks and magazines are in many places around my house, owned by my mum) and the fact that there was that huge emphasis on the cookbook.

So basically Julie didn’t completely plate up any of her dishes- they were all missing some key elements, whereas Chris and Poh finished quite comfortably (more so for Poh). If the cookbook was not mentioned at all today and it was just regular judging, Julie should have gone home for sure. Her dishes were not complete, her chicken was a bit overcooked and Matt said her cake was a bit granular and not rich like it should be. And she’s done this consistently in the competition- she’s been stressed and panicky in almost every round, and I don’t think she has ever finished comfortably or without mistakes. Is this really chef material? I thought they were looking for a master chef who could perform well in the kitchen, under pressure. I don’t think Julie can do that at all. Chris, on the other hand, has the emotional capacity of a brick, as exemplified in his “brick” pocket/filled thing he made tonight. He would be a great chef for the kitchen. He’s always cool and calm and he’s been super consistent throughout the entire competition. His downfall tonight was that his dishes were not up to scratch and he didn’t woo Donna Hay like Julie did with her story of children and family. Yes, a lot of people who watch the show, as well as the contestants (bar Julia, ew), hate Chris, but is MasterChef really about finding the “master chef”, or is it about finding someone who the public likes and who will sell books for their franchise? He’s also got a great, straight vision for his future in food, so that should’ve worked to his advantage. That being said, his set plans and clear vision means that he probably doesn’t need to win the competition to get where he wants to go. I’m sure he’ll open his beer-mason’s restaurant regardless of his elimination.

But if the competition is about finding someone who can sell and who the public likes, then there probably isn’t a more fitting couple for the finale. Poh has been everyone’s favourite ever since the beginning. She was the only Asian in the top 20 (which appeals to most of us), and she has had some crazy, wacky, creative ideas that have been really interesting. Her style is so different to all the other contestants, and she’s young and not bad looking (yes, this is up for debate), so that all works to her advantage. And then there’s Julie. Every Aussie home cook mother can relate to her, and so she’s got that huge fan base. Her cookbook actually does sound really good (as opposed to Poh’s “Food from Mars”), so props to her for that. I still think it was a bit cheap to bring her children and family into it; that always gets the tears going.

All in all, I’m definitely gunning for Poh to win. Her style is just so much more interesting, as opposed to Julie’s regular home-cooked meals that my mum can cook. And also, I can’t really relate to Julie’s story of being a mother with kids and all that.

As a side note, but still on the topic of food, I cooked Spaghetti Bolognese from scratch (i.e. without using pasta sauce) for my family for dinner tonight. Quite proud of that, since I’ve never done it before.

Anyway, apart from MasterChef, there are actually quite a few other things I want to blog about. Notice the “categories”, so to speak, in my blog header above? Well, in the next few blogs I’ll be covering a few of those. I actually continued writing about the other things just then, but it’s way, way too long so I’ll post those over the coming days. I don’t want to hurt your brains too much.

So, expect a blog probably tomorrow where I will talk about the various films and such that I’m seen over the past few days.

But until then, take care.

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

YAY FOR RETURNING. And Spagbol. I love making it from scratch. It tastes nicer and you can add more mince/tomato paste + herbs in it. Knowing what you eat= very important.

GO POH!

Looking forward to future posts about movies. I need some recommendations 🙂

Comment by mishmashmosh

[…] the deal with MasterChef? I hear it’s all the rage. I’m afraid to say that I haven’t actually caught onto the hype yet, and haven’t […]

Pingback by Detailed programmatic specificity. « May Contain Bolts

“and she’s young and not bad looking (yes, this is up for debate)”

Cracked me up:P

I was gunning for Julie but in all honesty Chris should have made it. My predictions for Sunday: the judges will be racist and vote Julie or the judges will come to their senses and realise Julie isn’t “master” material.

Comment by Bosco

Mraz title!
Poh is not young (isn’t she 35?) but she’s not bad looking either.
Agreed, I’d be more interested in her cookbook than Julie’s.

Comment by Rohan

A more fitting couple probably would have had Justine though =\

Comment by TripleS

Julie’s been sucking all week with puddle pie, raw fish, unfinished meals etc. Not the level she should be at in the finals.

Also, I don’t know why her cook book is such a great idea. It would probably be all about roasts and mash and cakes and there are heaps of cookbooks with those already.

Poh all the way. Even though she’s not as popular with viewers.

Comment by detailsinthefabricx

I like Poh but I agree with the things about Julie. I can’t really imagine her working as a chef due to her nervousness/sweating/freakouts/children. Any or all of the above. Tbh, I wanted Chris, Justine or Poh in the finals because they have the potential to pull out something different/awesome which makes it all the more interesting. Now, I don’t want to jinx it but I can’t see Julie providing as much competition?

I don’t see why Poh isn’t popular anyway, she might be a little over-the-top sometimes, but she seems cool.

Comment by LeeAnne

On the MC frams (where I’m a lurker xD) there are a lot of Poh hate threads/comments. All have one thing in common – undertones of racism.

Comment by detailsinthefabricx

Yea, but in the end, the judges are choosing the Masterchef, so Poh has 50% of winning 🙂

Both worthy of becoming Masterchef but Poh has much more creativity, which makes her so much better ( no bias here D:)

Comment by bk201




Leave a Reply

