the passenger seat


photographs and memories

I forgot to mention in yesterday’s blog that I’m actually home alone until next Monday. My whole family is overseas (albeit in different locations).

My brother is on a school trip (yeah, that’s Kings) to Sabah, Malaysia. He left last Friday, and I’m not sure when he’s coming back, but I know it’s after my parents do.

My parents left on Saturday to go on a China tour for their 25th wedding anniversary, and are returning next Monday.

So I’m alone in the house until then.

Luckily I have enough food and stuff (with minimal cooking effort) to last me the whole time. My mum left me some frozen meals, and on Friday night I went shopping and bought $200 worth of groceries- anything I wanted. I’ve also been left with $300. So I’m pretty much set with a good variety of meals and money for food and/or outings for the whole 10 days I’m alone.

One of the things that comes with living in a house on your own is that you end up having to do ALL the chores. This has involved:

  • Feeding my dog and fish (which I don’t usually do since I wake up later than everyone else)
  • Doing all the clothes washing and hanging (thank you for leaving a load of washing for me, mum and dad)
  • Preparing my own meals for the entire day
  • Doing the dishes every night
  • Taking the bin out and in
  • Walking my dog

Most of these chores I usually do only a few times a week, but I’ve ended up having to do most of them every day. Somehow I don’t mind, however. It’s kind of a nice feeling to have the house all to myself, and doing the chores isn’t really a big deal since I’m merely cleaning up after myself. It feels good.

Anyway, today was photo day. Individual photos were all good (where I gawked at their Nikon D200 cameras and pro flash gear), and then came the group and muck-up photos. The group was cool. Being the fourth tallest in the grade (actually I think Momo might be taller, but he was away) meant that I got to stand at the very top middle of the stands, next to Devesh- the tallest. The stands felt kind of flimsy though, but it was cool.

Then the muck-up. It was pretty hilarious to see the kind of stuff people came up with. James and my plans to make our piranha plant costumes went really well. We scavenged for cardboard boxes in the morning (in the big recycling bin near the canteen) and found some good ones. We were meant to have KO Netball training, but Ms. Eathorne wasn’t feeling well and so we didn’t. Instead, we (James, Anthony, Kris, Kevin and I) headed to the VA room to start painting. Kris assisting with the painting of James’ one did not go well. Kevin and Phat on my side were much, MUCH neater. Anyway, so we finished the job off at recess, but at the end of recess the “Pauline Hanson” lady came and busted us. We were actually the only ones who cleaned up after we used the paints, while everyone else dumped their stuff in the sink, but she pawned us. It was cool though. I quickly cleaned up the stuff I was using and bailed, albeit with some angry-ish remarks from the sub and Ms. McMillan. This, however, meant we were very late to maths, and so we just hung in the common room and assembled our costumes instead of turning up halfway through the lesson.

The rest, you all know how it went. Interesting how they decided to do the muck up photos on the stands on the front lawn this year; traditionally it was a high-angle shot down onto the quadrangle, but not this time. I reckon it kind of limited the execution of some people’s costumes, but thankfully we were allowed to stand in our green bins at the front. Special mentions to Deva (who did Michael Jackson), Ameya (Rorschach from Watchmen) and Chris & Shaun (Mario and Luigi, karts included). Photos are on various people’s Facebooks, which I will not link (e-stalkers alert!).

Overall it was a pretty hectic day. Tomorrow I have to miss my free period (period 2) for KO sport photos (I have 5). That sucks. Ah well, we have double chemistry, where we will hopefully be making soap (Fight Club style?).

Not sure when I’ll next blog. My routine nowadays is wack. I guess I’ll (i.e. blogging Jeremy) see you guys whenever something interesting happens at school. Probably Thursday, when the year 11 vs. 12 basketball game will be on. I urge all of you to spectate; it’ll be a good game.

But until then, adieu.

PS. Blog title? I think only one of you will get it…

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yep, living alone is not all some people think it is.
There’s nobody but you to make sure everything runs like it’s should.

Raven
http://cherokeebydesign.wordpress.com/

Comment by cherokeebydesign

jason reeves (:

Comment by janet




Leave a Reply

