the passenger seat


the unwinding cable car

I wasn’t actually going to blog tonight; I thought I’d have a rest after exams and blog tomorrow after I’d watched Transformers and played with James’ camera, but I just watched Crash, and I just have to blog about it.

crash

Yes, Crash was that film that in 2004 won all those Oscars (Best Picture, Best Original Screenplay, Best Editing) at the 2005 Academy Awards, and I’d say they won them all rightfully so. I loved it. The storyline was complex yet it’s executed in such a way that you’re able to keep track of every character and their views and stories.

The film is based solely around the issue of racial tensions. There are four or five subplots, and in each there are always conflicts between races; the main races represented are Whites, African-Americans, Asians, Hispanics and Persians. It would take me all night to explain each subplot, but all of these come together in the last thirty minutes or so of the film where there’s a massive prolonged catharsis that just keeps on hitting you with surprises. In the end all the loose ends are tied up and each individual character gains a sense of inner peace, and this is usually some sort of an understanding for the race they were previously against as well as an understanding of themselves. Just, you’re going to have to watch it if you haven’t already. I very highly recommend it. But if you’re one of those people  that are easily affected emotionally by movies, be warned. This film is packed with emotion and I’d be surprised at anyone that did not tear up even a little throughout the whole movie. I think it’s the emotional side of movies that gets me going (please don’t judge me). I watched Good Will Hunting a while back and it really struck me. There’s another great film to watch. As soon it finished I decided that it was one of the best films I had ever watched. Robin Williams and Matt Damon, how can you go wrong? Oh, and speaking of actors and actresses, Crash also has a somewhat stellar cast. Don Cheadle, Matt Dillon, Thandie Newton, Sandra Bullock, Brendan Fraser, Terrence Howard and even Ludacris plays a key role. I noticed that a lot of these actors seem to be playing their usual roles in this movie. Thandie Newton is an angry wife (as in The Pursuit Of Happyness) and Matt Dillon is a (quote) racist prick, as in a lot of his movies. Although Don Cheadle is quite a bit more serious than he was in Ocean’s Thirteen (Basher, the British explosives guy).

If you were dumbstruck while reading the last half of the previous paragraph, don’t worry. That was just my ramblings since I watched many, many movies last holidays.

Well, exams were over for me today. I’m not going to talk about any of them, because I hate that, but I’m very glad they’re over for now. For the first time in three weeks I have the freedom to do anything I like without feeling guilty about it. And yes I know we have an English Extension I speech, but that can wait until the weekend.

I spoke about my want for a Nikon D5000 in my last blog, and said that I was hoping to purchase is before next Tuesday to take advantage of the offer at JB HI-FI. Well, it turns out I won’t be getting it before then for many reasons that don’t involve me. In two weeks time I’m going to be home alone for a week or so (hopefully I can survive!). My brother has a school trip to Sabah, Malaysia and my parents are going to China for ten days for their wedding anniversary. Also, our hot water tank needs to be repaired, and so this is where all the family’s money is going, rather than to my camera. I offered to use the money in my bank account, but they wouldn’t allow that either, so now I have to wait until my birthday to get it (early August), which I’m totally fine with since it’s pretty soon. Also, the issue of price isn’t an issue anymore, since John’s sister works at Harvey Norman and can get me an even cheaper price than the JB HI-FI price, and it’s without a deadline (thanks, John!).

Anyway, that is all tonight. Expect another blog tomorrow night where I will review Transformers: Revenge Of The Fallen and document my experiences with James’ camera, both of which I am eagerly looking forward to right now.

PS. The title of this blog was chosen because, well, I figured that if a cable car was unwinding, then eventually it would… Yeah I think you know. But where are my last two blog titles from?

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I don’t know D:

BUT DISCOUNT :O:O:O:O:O:O:O:O:O:O:O:O:O

Comment by mishmashmosh

Crash has been on my to-watch list for a while now but I never download movies because I have four people on the one Internet source.

I’m guessing the entry “Janet” came from its namesake haha. Give me points now.

Comment by James

Crash !

I have a billion movies on my to-watch/to-obtain list including Crash, but I don’t have time to do either 😦

Comment by detailsinthefabricx

I saw crash on TV a while back, and Miss Webb showed us a bit at the end of Year 11 3u english when we had nothing to do. I agree that it’s one of those movies whose plot just speaks for itself (although, its star cast takes it to another level). Kind of like Love Actually with all the subplots but way more awesome.

Whenever I think of movies with good plot-lines, I think of The Prestige. Left me reeling and kept me thinking after the end, which i loved. Although I still don’t get some parts of it…

Comment by Leeanne




Leave a Reply

