the passenger seat


sleep spent

It’s 12:35am and I really should be sleeping right now. The reason I’m blogging so late is due to the fact that I had more homework than usual today. But alas, the show must go on, and I will blog. Because it’s so late, there won’t be much in the way of detailed comments or things like that like I usually do, but it’s better than nothing. Also, it’s going to be a bit of a break from all the art I’ve been posting lately, and rather it will be about another of my passions: music. 

As you may have noticed, the title of every single blog post to date (including the title of my entire blog) has been a title of a Death Cab For Cutie song, this blogs title being a song from Something About Airplanes. The one exception was the very first post, which was a line from “The Passenger Seat”. I guess this is sort of a theme to my blog, but I’m not really sure how much longer I can keep this up. I think they have about eighty or ninety song titles, so there’s still a lot for me to work with I guess. I may move to Anberlin or another band once I can’t use any more of Death Cab’s.

The reason for my use of Death Cab For Cutie titles is simply because they are my favourite band. Period. They have been for a long time now (it’s measured in years), ever since Janet first introduced them to me. What I love about them is their trademark instrumentation, which is usually calm and relaxing, with easy and clean tones that are very soothing to the ear. On top of that, Ben Gibbard (singer, songwriter, guitarist and occasional pianist for the band) is a genius lyricist. So many of his songs relate to something I’ve experienced in my life, and so I can really relate to what he’s singing about in each of his songs. He writes love songs, songs about family, separation, loneliness, anxiety, society… often using very original extended metaphors to get his point across, which I love. His voice has a kind of rawness to it; and it is the honesty in his tone that really sells his lyrics.

Death Cab’s style has been described as indie rock, indie pop and alternative (although technically they are no longer indie as they are signed to a major label), and they have made six studio albums, numerous EPs and a few live albums. Their latest album, Narrow Stairs, peaked at number one on the US Billboard charts. As well as these, Ben Gibbard has made two albums of his own and Chris Walla (guitarist, producer) released his first album early last year.

Formed in 1997, Death Cab For Cutie consists of (from left to right in the image below) Jason McGerr (drums), Nicholas Harmer (bass), Ben Gibbard (vocals/lyricist/guitarist) and Chris Walla (guitarist/producer).

deathcab
My favourite album by this band usually changes over time, but right now it is Plans, from 2005, with Transatlanticism (2003) and The Photo Album (2001) as close seconds.

plans
transatlanticism
photoalbum
That’s all for today. Tomorrows will be a more in-depth blog on another topic, possibly a comic or maybe more art…

But lastly, this is my favourite song by Death Cab For Cutie, “Transatlanticism” off the album of the same name. The lyrics and music really resonate with me everytime I hear it.

the atlantic was born today and i’ll tell you how:
the clouds above opened up and let it out.

i was standing on the surface of a perforated sphere
when the water filled every hole.
and thousands upon thousands made an ocean,
making islands where no island should go.
oh no.

most people were overjoyed; they took to their boats.
i thought it less like a lake and more like a moat.
the rhythm of my footsteps crossing flatlands to your door
have been silenced forever more.
and the distance is quite simply much too far for me to row,
it seems farther than ever before.
oh no.

i need you so much closer

i need you so much closer

so come on, come on

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Have you heard the Babyporridge version of “I will follow you into the dark” by deathcab? 🙂 It’s nice.

Comment by Belle

haha yes i saw it a while ago. i thought her voice could have been better, but it was alright. 😛

Comment by thepassengerseat




Leave a Reply

