the passenger seat


grapevine fires

Wow, I didn’t realise so many people would see my blog after one comment on Belle’s blog.

Welcome to you all. The comments you guys have posted tonight really mean a lot to me; thanks for those, I appreciate it a lot. Although only a select few knew about my blog before tonight, I had been reading all of your blogs before you read mine, keeping up to date using Belle’s blogroll.

Bosco: I really loved the photograph too. Although it seemed very, very simple, there was no way I could have left it out of the blog.
Belle: Thanks for the multiple comments and the shoutout on your blog. I’ll talk a bit about those models later in this blog.
Chris: The fact that my blog made your day made my night! Thanks. And yes, when I first made it I wanted to keep it private, but I think I’m ready for more people to see it now.

Anyway, onto the main part of this blog…

For lack of a better subject, here are some facts about my desk (the photo was posted in my previous blog, lack of color):

  • On my top shelf I have many models made of paper/card. The back row are Cubees, of which there are thirteen, ranging from Spongebob Squarepants to Batman to Domo-kun. These were made after the term four exams and during the summer holidays, downloaded from the Cubeecraft website at James’ suggestion. In front of these Cubees are Boxpunx, by an artist named Jason Edward Harlan (harlancore). I have sixteen of these.
  • In the corner of my desk is a CD rack and another stack of CDs. I currently own twenty two albums by various artists, such as Death Cab For Cutie, Anberlin, John Mayer, Jack Johnson, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Kanye West, John Legend, Coldplay, Jason Mraz, My Chemical Romance, Green Day…
  • Sitting on top of my CD rack is an origami swan made by Janet.
  • On the wall behind my desk are two canvas paintings done by Janet for my seventeenth birthday last year. They are of the album covers of Jack Johnson’s In Between Dreams and On And On. Behind the swan there is also a plaster painting which I did with Janet at the Carlingford West Public School fete last year.

cubee
boxpunx

After the last exam week and during the past holidays, I really got into reading comics and graphic novels by downloading them and reading them on the computer. Since then I’ve collected fifteen different titles, with some of them comprising of many separate comics; the largest I have is Sin City by Frank Miller, which has seven books and five to thirteen individual issues in each book.

watchmen

It all started with Watchmen, a 12-issue comic book limited series written by Alan Moore in 1986-87. The film adaptation of this graphic novel was nearing its release date, and there was plenty of hype about it all over the internet, saying how great the movie was going to be and how great the comic is. So, I decided to check it out.

Upon reading it for the first time, I was blown away by the complexity of the plot and characters and the level of thought that had gone into the comic as a comment on current society. Set in an alternate 1985, Watchmen is about a small band of superheroes who are outlawed under a new government law and many of them thus retire. But the murder of one of them sparks a fear that there may be a “costume-killer” within the remaining heroes, and so they don their suits once again to find the killer and destroy his plans, which turn out to be a lot worse than they thought.

Two characters of particular intrigue are Rorschach and Dr. Manhattan. Rorschach is the main character of the book, whose journal is followed throughout. We find out that he is a man with a troubled childhood, which has turned him into a masked figure hell-bent on reprimanding those who do wrong. Dr. Manhattan is a scientist who was transformed into a god-like being through a lab accident, able to exist in multiple places and multiple times and possessing the ability to manipulate matter at an atomic level. From left to right in the image below, the main characters are Ozymandias, Silk Spectre II, Dr. Manhattan, Nite Owl, Rorschach, The Comedian (kneeling).

watchmencharacters
The illustrations in the comic are very well done, using a color palette uncommon to other comics. Also, there is an underlying issue of the current state of the world based on false values; it is a postmodern work with elements of science fiction, touching on ideas such as existentialism and deconstructivism. Overall, the graphic novel was impeccable, and I have only praise for it. I highly recommend it as a must-read. This is the first page of the comic:

watchmenpage
“Grapevine Fires” is by Death Cab For Cutie, from the album Narrow Stairs.

Every blog title relates to something (or everything) I talk about in the blog.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

firstpost

Comment by brookenwoodsemillon

second !

nice blog jero

all day all day

Comment by thash

Wow! Great read and view. You find some very interesting and nice contemporary/post-modern art.

Comment by SL

Looks like your blog as gathered quite a following Jero. 🙂

I like it. Your posts are so well thought out and detailed.

Hmm, another recommendation to read The Watchmen. Maybe I need to shift it a little higher on the post-HSC priority list.

Comment by Spik3balloon

HAHA love the cubecraft models.

after seeing your desk, i look @ mine and it’s a complete mess. i’ll blog abt it one day 😉 hehe

after getting used to reading japanese manga and watching anime, American comics looks so different! nevertheless i shall giv it a try, probably after HSC =)

Comment by Krissybubbles

I concur with everyone. Very nice blog Jero =D

Comment by codearyan

Hehe, the models are cute!

I like reading your blogposts. Everything is so indepth 🙂 Good job!

Comment by Belle




Leave a Reply

