the passenger seat


expo ’86

I really like the direction in which advertisements and media are going these days. I’ve realised that I’m starting to see more and more ads on the streets and stuff that I actually like, aesthetically. I think the fact that I like things like media, advertising and design is the reason that I want to do Arts (Media and Communications)/Law at university. Everyone (my parents) keep asking me where that’s going to take me career-wise, and I never really have an answer. All I know is that I really want to do something that involves creativity and design; I want to spend the rest of my life doing something I like.

Anyway, FFFFOUND! (mentioned in my previous blog, pictures in an exhibition) is a treasure trove for such ads, so this post will be a showcase of some of the ones that stood out to me in my travels. Click the pictures for a larger view.

This first one is an ad for Nike ID. It’s a simple design and idea, but I like the hand-drawn quality to it.

nike
Next is an ad for Tynant Natural Mineral Water. While it may seem as though this one has a very simple premise, I just think they pulled it off well; the bright light at the top draws attention to the brand name, and I like the idea of using fatter bubbles for the contours on the bottle.

waterbottle
Bacardi Mojito. This ad also uses water to form an image (the Bacardi logo), but I like the more natural look of this one. The lime in the glass is a nice touch, and people who know me will know that I’m a big fan of green.

glasslime
Did I say green? No prizes for why I like this ad for Adidas shoes. The foliage coming out of  the shoe and the vine around it have been done really well, and the little buttons of colour are a nice touch. The overlayed tech-looking designs in the background give the poster a bit more to look at and contrast the natural foliage.

greenshoes
The next one for Tiger beer speaks for itself. A beer bottle, toucans and splashes of colour. I love the brightness of this ad.

tigerbeer
A cover for Bulgarian magazine Sign Cafe. As mentioned in my previous blog, pictures in an exhibition, I really like vectors. I also like how the man has been fragmented, as if shattered from the explosion of colour and images from his head.

allthethingsinsidemyhead
The next few images are a series from the American Institute of Graphic Arts. I’m a fan of the splatters of colour, as well as the use of medical textbook-style images of the heart, brain and hand. I don’t know why, but the depiction of the human heart in art appeals to me, so this doesn’t disappoint.

vwyheart
vwybrain
vwyhand
The following images are part of another series. They are advertisements for Rios Illustration Studio. I love the concept behind these.

flattenship
flattenparis
flattendinosaur
This last image for today’s blog is a depiction of everyone’s favourite clown, Ronald McDonald, but not as you’d normally see him. The smokey effect, the way he’s kind of vaporising and the typography made this piece stand out for me. This is from The Imaginary Print Series. I tried really hard to find the other images in this series, but unfortunately it was to no avail.

imaginaryfriend
I think there’s a certain time of the night when I’m really susceptible to music and art. All the images here were found late at night, and so was this cover of Train’s “Drops of Jupiter”, by a really amazing YouTube artist named Gabe Bondoc. Gabe does some great covers of popular songs but with a jazz/blues/funk style on acoustic guitar (and sometimes on ukulele). I’ve liked pretty much every single cover and original he’s posted on YouTube. Check out his channel here.

On the topic of music, today I downloaded A Funk Odyssey, an album by Jamiroquai. I had a sudden urge to listen to “Love Foolosophy” (it’s been stuck in my head all day). It used to be played on the radio all the time back in the day.

Anyway, that’s all I have to talk about in todays blog. Having school means that there’s nothing that interesting to blog about anymore, since I don’t have time to trawl the internet. I’ve also noticed that my blogging style for the past two days has been very sleepy and serious. The reason for that is because both times I’ve been very tired; yesterday from driving and today from school and the fact that I had to get up early for netball training this morning. Boys netball is really intense, and I never realised it could be so fast-moving and tiring.

Aww shet. I’m beached ez brew.

“Expo ’86” is from the album Transatlanticism by Death Cab For Cutie.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

The imaginary print series which can be seen on flawlessformula.se

http://flawlessformula.se/flawlesswebsite.htm

Comment by Nobody




Leave a Reply

